[SAT FoodLab] Nordic Terrace

DSC00736

Cousin had to work late the other night, so asked if I could take his better half on a girls night out. O-f-c-o-u-r-s-e! She was visiting Montreal for the first time, so I made a point to show her something “Nordic” (“cold”?). The SAT Food Lab had exactly what with needed: a full size yurt on its third floor’s terrace.  OK, not exactly your typical Canadian/Québécois scenery, but definitely something different from her usual blue sea and palm trees.

I have never been in Mongolia, let alone in a yurt, so I was really looking forward to our Nordic escapade. The setting was cosy and welcoming. Most impressively, it perfectly balanced a desire for authenticity with the needs of a culinary institution. Traditional decorative patterns embellished the central columns while long benches, covered in fluffy pillows and ivory furs (fake. fake furs my friend), leaned against the wall.

Drinks: we tried the mulled wine. The best one I’ve ever tasted in my life. It was just sweet enough, with a deep cinnamon smell and a subtle orange flavour. I cold have had the entire pot. But rest assured, I didn’t.

All in all, a great spot to bond with my cousin’s sweetheart. Welcome to the family, CA!

DSC00686DSC00697DSC00700DSC00705DSC00722DSC00725DSC00727DSC00742DSC00747

Labo culinaire - Foodlab on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

