[Brunch: Suwu] Boozy Brunch

suwu brunch mtl food snob blog 3“A smoothie; perfect. Boozed-up?”

“urg…(tempting)… hum, no thanks.”

Well, that’s what I thought.

I wanted to keep it civilized on this Sunday morning – especially since I was on tasting duty as the official rep for MtlFoodSnob to see what was up with Suwu’s new chef.

But who was I kidding. I’ve spent way too many wild nights at Suwu to ignore the fact that day or night, the place has a pretty hardcore party spirit, staff and clients included.

Waking up with an allongé, I scanned through the menu. “Petit Déjeuner Chinois” seemed ethnically appropriate enough to my Asian self, so I ordered that.suwu brunch mtl food snob blog 7 suwu brunch mtl food snob blog 1 suwu brunch mtl food snob blog 2A few minutes later, Mini Chinese Breakfast came out from the kitchen, but not alone. Along with it came what was probably the most sinful doughnut sandwich I’ve seen in a long time; berry jam and peanut butter generously spread over bananas stuck in between homemade doughnuts. And did I mention the gigantic piece of bacon that kept it all together? You know, the way the English do it: thick, tender, and with a good rim of juicy fat all around.

But it wasn’t as good as the barbecued version found on my Chinese plate: slightly sweet, extremely fatty and very juicy. Sitting on a bed of sticky rice and covered in a soy (Hoisin sauce? They wouldn’t tell me their secret ingredient) concoction, the bacon was without a doubt the king of the plate.suwu brunch mtl food snob blog 6 suwu brunch mtl food snob blog 11In between two bites of rice, Gab came by with milkshake tasters for all those sitting at the bar. Shooters, of course, packed with vanilla vodka.

And that was the beginning of the end.suwu brunch mtl food snob blog 5 suwu brunch mtl food snob blog 13A few minutes later, Max came by with an iced coffee, with a little extra something inside of it, naturally.

And why not, a shot of Suwu’s famous triad Caesar.suwu brunch mtl food snob blog 10Midway through my meal, I realized I needed to start sharing or my stomach would explode. And so I befriended the bearded chaps on my right. They didn’t mind this rather utilitarian encounter, giving two thumbs up to the doughnut and a cheers to the iced coffee.suwu brunch mtl food snob blog 9 suwu brunch mtl food snob blog 8 suwu brunch mtl food snob blog 4 suwu brunch mtl food snob blog 14So that is the story of my civilized-turned-boozed-up brunch at Suwu. For all the regulars out there, Suwu during the day is exactly like Suwu during the night, albeit, with daylight (duh.): fun, unpretentious, and boozy.

3581 St Laurent Montreal, QC H2X2T6 (514) 564-5074
SuWu on Urbanspoon

To never miss a post again, follow Mtl Food Snob on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

